The Communities of Bureau County
Originally known as Lost Grove in the 1900's, this town was one of the fastest growing communities during the coal boom years. Later it was renamed after a town in New York.
In 1854 this town originally named French Grove started with a single store and growth continued until it reached 900 in population.
BUREAU JUNCTION Map
This "City of Side Tracks" was the nickname given because it was the junction where two railroads met.
Best known for the Cherry Mine Disaster in 1909. As you enter Cherry today, visit the stone monument built in memory of the local miners.
The village was named after a coal magnate named Sam Dalzell and was home to many miners.
Established in the mid 1800's, this town boasted a brisk river trade. DePue State Fish & Wildlife Park is home to eagles, herons and migratory fowl.
One of the oldest towns in Bureau County, Dover was originally named Livingston. Later the name was changed and was incorporated in 1858.
Settled by German immigrants in 1846, this town has always been a farming community.
Established in 1890, this small town has a rich history of coal mining, railroading and farming.
LA MOILLE Map
Originally named Greenfield, the named was changed in 1840. It is one of four towns in Bureau County to use a village green layout.
Due to a large number of settlers from Malden, Mass. The name of the town was changed from Wiona to Malden in 1867.
The first village was moved in 1901 from its original to its present location to make use of the Union Pacific Railroad which was being built.
Home of the Witness Tree just 3 miles south on County AA. This tree served as a reference point for surveyors when the railroad was being built.
Established in 1865, this town was originally named Brawby. Just north of town is a farm with an underground barn which was used during the Civil War.
NEW BEDFORD Map
Located on the Green River, this village was incorporated in 1940.
Incorporated in 1876, this town is one of the many small towns along the Reagan Trail.
The seat of county government, Princeton is the largest city in Bureau County. It offers unique shopping, live theatre and more.
In its prime, this town was considered one of the best mining towns in the area. Seatonville was incorporated in 1889.
Established in 1832, this town produced coal for the railroad. Sheffield has one of the oldest Danish Lutheran churches in America.
This city hosts one of the biggest Walleye competitions in the state. Part of the Illinois River Road, this area has many parks and nature areas.
Known as the "Gem of the Valley" Tiskilwa is nestled in a valley surrounded by wooded bluffs and was home to the Potawatomi.
Established in 1872, this lovely town is home to Avanti's plus many other businesses. Host to a wonderful July 4th fireworks display.
Located near Wyanet is Lock 21 of the Hennepin Canal. This is where you can view an old lift bridge and one of the oldest surviving Lock Tender Houses.
Neighborhoods, Subdivisions & Settlements
Coal Hollow ◊
Kasbeer ◊ Langley ◊ Limerick ◊ Lone Tree Corners ◊ Love ◊ Marquette ◊ Milo ◊ Normandy
Ottville ◊ Providence ◊ Thomas ◊ Van Orin ◊ Webster Park ◊ Wendel ◊ Whitefield
Yorktown ◊ Zearing